Here I stay again

por M. S. Costa

Here I stay again. The more hours linger, less and less I tend to rescue her. I think she’ll learn how to get out of that dark room. When I look at her, I can only remember what I lost. A whole world of ideas, years of a happy childhood buried somewhere in days of a very strange society. I’m not sure if I lost that for good or if I’m just trying to pretend that I wasn’t supposed to do anything about the things that happened. But it probably shouldn’t matter now that it is past.

Not so rarely I think that if she lives like a little child inside me, then I live as well with some sort of meaning. That’s when love comes up. This love for humanity, in spite of what we see.

****

Aqui estou de novo. Quanto mais as horas prolongam-se, menos tendo a resgatá-la. Acho que ela vai aprender a sair daquele quarto escuro. Quando olho para ela, consigo apenas lembrar o que perdi. Um mundo todo de ideias, anos de uma infância feliz enterrados em algum lugar, em dias de uma sociedade bem estranha. Não tenho certeza se perdi para sempre ou se estou apenas tentando fingir que não deveria fazer nada a respeito das coisas que aconteceram. Mas isso provavelmente não deveria importar agora que é passado.

Não raras vezes, acho que se ela vive como uma pequena criança dentro de mim, então vivo também com algum tipo de sentido. É então que o amor aparece. Este amor pela humanidade, apesar do que vemos.

